UnBeetable Yumminess

I woke up with a craving for beets.  Beets I must have!  I thought about beets all day long until I finally broke down and went to Berkeley Bowl to see what kind of beety goodness they had to offer.  Nothing on display, they said, and it’s another week until the salad bar is running.  But, if you can wait 10 minutes, we’ll have the kitchen whip something up.  Ohhh and it was so worth the wait.  Here are the ingredients for the most excellent beet salad I’ve ever eaten, in all their salivatory reverse engineered open-source glory:

  • A bunch of cooked beets, both red and golden, quartered
  • Chêvre, also known as goat cheese
  • Toasted/caramelized walnuts, halved
  • Finely chopped chives

It was so tasty!  Every bite was different, with the texture varying from the nice feeling of my teeth slicing through a just-right cooked beet, to the crunchiness of the walnuts and the smooth globs of goat cheese in between.  The salad was over just all too soon, I’ll definitely have to make more.

Comments Off on UnBeetable Yumminess

Filed under Recipes

Comments are closed.