Experiments with New Electronic Instruments

Hey!  If there’s been a short delay in blog posts here, it’s because I’ve just returned from being away for Thanksgiving break, to New York City!  Here’s one of the highlights:

While I was there, Josh Gordonson, Billy Gordon, and I paid a visit to a nifty community invention lab called NYCResistor, where Ranjit showed us his nifty hacked player piano.  We proceeded to get up to all sorts of tomfoolery with it:

singing and laughing with the toy piano from ranjit on Vimeo.

Ranjit said:

“Yesterday Star, Billy, and Josh (from MIT & Brooklyn Poly) came by to visit NYC Resistor. They told me of their crazy schemes and brilliant plans, and helped me eat a giant slice of strawberry cheesecake.

When I showed them my toy piano and the new sound-processing code I was messing around with, they immediately asked why I hadn’t plugged in a microphone. I swear I would’ve gotten around to it myself… someday.

Thanks for visiting, guys – you’re welcome any time!

p.s. thanks to Isaac Schankler for help with the piano code; and we were both inspired by Peter Ablinger’s speaking piano.”

Comments Off on Experiments with New Electronic Instruments

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.